Top 5 Cybersecurity Certifications In 2021

Acquiring cybersecurity certifications is a great way to kickstart your career. Employers often consider cybersecurity certification as a key measure of professionalism and commitment to excellence when assessing potential applicants. We have found five certifications for cyber security that we consider today to be the best in the field of cybersecurity:

Certified Ethical Hacking

Hackers are innovative; individuals who find new ways to target information systems and manipulate threat intelligence on an ongoing basis. Smart organizations preserve their data systems efficiently and effectively by using IT experts with the knowledge and guidance to beat hackers in their very own game. These individuals are often known as ethical hackers or white hat hackers. These experts use hackers’ very methods and competencies to recognize security vulnerability and network devices to avoid bad security and data systems by cybercriminals.

The CEH certification is a transitional certification of the Global EC-Council. The IT experts who pursue ethical hacking professions are required to demonstrate their skills in the 5 phases of ethics hacking: recognition, quantification, access, access maintenance, and coverage.  CEH certificate holders have knowledge and expertise in aspects such as footprinting and recognition, enumeration, session hijacking, scanning networks, social engineering,

Trojans, viruses and worms, sniffers, system hacking, DDoS attacks, evading IDS, hacking wireless networks, web servers, as well as web applications, cryptography, SQL injection, penetration testing, firewalls, as well as honeypots in hacking exercise. With IoT getting hacked and threat analysis, CEH V11 focuses more attention on emerging attack vectors.

Applicants must pass a single exam to acquire a CEH certificate. A full five-day CEH training program with the examination at the ending is suggested. Applicants can study themselves for an examination, and must submit paperwork with company verification on a minimum of 2 years of work experience in cybersecurity.

Added $100 USD application fee must also be paid to self-study applicants. Education can be replaced by experience, but this is assessed individually. Applicants who do not have to submit a request before trying the examination if they have completed EC-Council training.

Certified Information Security Manager

The CISM is a highly accredited IT expert who manages, develops and supervises cyber security processes in enterprising applications or develops best organizational safety methods. In 2003, ISACA i.e., the Information Systems Audit and Control Association launched CISM credentials to security experts.

The organization objectives of ISACA are aimed specifically at IT experts that are focused in the rigorous quality with regard to information systems audit, security and control. The CISM credential addresses IT security experts’ needs and undertakings’ responsibility for security management.

Certificate holders acquire the abilities required to manage and respond to security risks, to develop and manage programs, to control and manage incidents. ISACA’s code of conduct should be accepted for the recipients of CISM credentials, who have an expertise with security.

They must have spent at least 5 years in cybersecurity management in 3 or longer areas of employment evaluation, who must conform with a continuous education practices of the company, and must present the corresponding wr-down. The experience demand may be replaced with a few combinations of knowledge and training. 

CompTIA Security+ Certification

CompTIA’s Security+ certification is a well known security certificate that is vendor neutral.  Excellent analytical capacities, comprehensive knowledge and expertise have been identified in several security disciplines by credentials bearer CompTIA Security +. Even when CompTIA Security+ is a beginner level cybersecurity certification, successful applicants should have at least 2 years of information security experience and therefore should consider receiving the CompTIA A and Network+ certification as a prerequisite.

In the fields of network access control, threat management, identity management, risk identification & mitigation security, cryptography, security systems, and security structure, the IT professionals receiving this certification are experienced.

This certification is approved by the United States’ Department of Defense in order to meet requirements of Directive 8140/8570.01-M. Furthermore, the certification also fulfills the ISO 17024 standards. The credentials for CompTIA Security+ require one examination, which currently costs $339 USD.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional 

The CISSP certification is a state-of-the-art certification of IT professionals who are passionate about high paying and high demand cyber security careers. This is another vendor-neutral credential which is globally known for its standards of quality provided by the (ISC)2 aka ISC squared which is an abbreviation for International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium.

In terms of developing, guiding, and managing safety standards, practices, and processes in the companies, CISSP certificate holders are board members with the expertise and technological skills needed. The IT experts try to pursue the CISSP as it is well known by IT institutions.

 It is always on the top of the list in the most desired cybersecurity certification and that’s what makes it a must have. The CISSP is intended for skilled professionals in safety. At least five years of work experience is required for this accreditation in minimum of 2 of the 8 (ISC)2 CBK domains or 4 years of work experience in minimum of 2 of the (ISC)2 Common Body Knowledge domains and an accredited college or credential diploma.

CBK areas include asset security, security and risk management, communication and network security, security and engineering architecture, identity and access management, security operations, security assessment and testing, as well as software development security.


ISACA’s certification CISA is widely recognized, is a golden standard for IT experts in cybersecurity, auditing, and assurance activities. Perfect candidates can identify and evaluate the threats and risks of their organization, evaluate adherence as well as provide guidance and organizational security checks.

CISA experts can demonstrate expertise and know-how in auditing, acquisition, management and governance, maintenance and service management, development and implementation, and asset protection throughout CISA’s employment practice.

To acquire the CISA, applicants must clear one examination, apply, comply to the Professional Ethics Code, accept continuing vocational training criteria as well as commit to the IT auditing standards of the organization. Candidates should also have at least 1 year of information systems knowledge. Some replacements for training and auditing experience are allowed.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button